Book Review | Playing With Bonbon Fire

bonbon banner36364694Playing With Bonbon Fire

(A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery #2)

Chocoholic Charity Penn must smoke out the killer to stop her newly inherited beachside chocolate shop from going up in flames in Dorothy St. James’ decadent follow-up to Asking for Truffle.

Chocolate shop owner Charity Penn is finally settling into life in the quirky South Carolina seaside town of Camellia Beach cooking up chocolate treats. She’s even helped organize the town’s lively beach music festival which has brought rollicking crowds eager to dance the Carolina shag. That is, until one of the band’s lead singers is found dead beside a beach bonfire.

While also trying to balance the amorous attention of music star Bixby Lewis, in town for the festival, and her quest to perfect a new hot flavored bonbon, Charity dives into the investigation. Though it’s more spice than sugar when she discovers a threatening note, comes across decades of age-old secrets, and Bixby comes into the line of fire when a gas grill explodes on the deck of a beachfront house.

Now Charity must turn up the heat and catch the killer before her chance melts away in Playing With Bonbon Fire, the delightful second Chocolate Shop mystery served up just right for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.

Goodreads | Amazon | Kobo | B & N | BookBub

Want to start from the beginning?

My Review

This is the second book in the Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery Series and my first in the series, that I have read.  I loved it!  It was such a cozy read with wonderful characters.

While Penn is finally settling in Camellia Beach, she is still struggling to fit in with her family.  She is still searching for Carolina, who could possibly be here mother.  When Bubba and Penn put together a music festival, Penn sees it as an opportunity to bring business to the quiet little town and quite possibly her shop.  But when a singer is murdered and things point to 1975 when her mother disappeared, she may uncover the biggest secret the town has, but at what cost.

This book kept me guessing till the very end.  I absolutely loved this story.  The book has great world building as the author has created a quaint little town, full of amazing and wonderful characters.  You can’t help but fall in love.  Penn is a wonderful woman, whose family doesn’t treat her fairly and she has to fight to prove she is entitled to her shop.  I love how she doesn’t understand southern slang.  I laughed at her misunderstandings of the sayings that the locals had.  The small little love triangle created a wonderful romance aspect of the story.  I am rooting for Harley though.  We shall see what happens in book three.

The story flowed smoothly and the book was not rushed.  It had the perfect mix of cute romance, humor, mystery and a little bit of danger.  If you are a big fan of cozy mysteries, then you are going to love this book.  Even though I did not read the first book, I did not feel too lost reading this one.  I highly recommend this book.  5 Stars of Fun

5 star

*ARC provided by Cozy Mystery Review Crew

Dorothy St. James

 

Mystery author Dorothy St. James was born in New York but raised in South Carolina. For the past 20+ years, she made her home on an artsy island community in South Carolina with her husband. Though writing has always been a passion for her, she pursued an undergraduate degree in Wildlife Biology and a graduate degree in Public Administration and Urban Planning. She put her educational experience to use, having worked in all branches and all levels of government including local, regional, state, and federal. She even spent time during college working for a non-profit environmental watchdog organization.

Switching from government service and community planning to fiction writing wasn’t as big of a change as some might think. Her government work was all about the stories of the people and the places where they live. As an urban planner, Dorothy loved telling the stories of the people she met. And from that, her desire to tell the tales that were so alive in her heart grew until she could not ignore it any longer. In 2001, she took a leap of faith and pursued her dream of writing fiction full-time.

* Dorothy St. James is the alter-ego of award-winning multi-published author, Dorothy McFalls. She enjoys writing in several different genres. Her works have been nominated for many awards including: Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, Reviewers International Organization Award, National Reader’s Choice Award, CataRomance Reviewers’ Choice Award, and The Romance Reviews Today Perfect 10! Award. Reviewers have called her work: “amazing”, “perfect”, “filled with emotion”, and “lined with danger.”

The story will continue in book 3 scheduled to release 9/11/2018.

Pre-Order now!

reviewed

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Playing With Bonbon Fire

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.